Future looking brighter

I have had a letter from the NHS about my psychiatry referral today. It’s in September instead of November like I was expecting. It’s still a long wait, but not quite as long which makes me feel happier. It is a morning appointment, and I’m not really a morning person, but I can live with that. I wish I knew what to expect from this doctor though

His specialty is listed as general psychiatry, which is a bit worrying to me. I need someone who is experienced with gender issues and I cannot find any other information on this doctor. I have sent an email to his secretary to try to find out if he has had any experience with gender issues, hopefully the answer will be yes. I have also asked if I can be given an idea of what to expect from the appointment as that will help ease my nerves of going if I know roughly what it’s going to be like.

I have an interview a week tomorrow about my search for more appropriate housing for myself. I’m optimistic about that. I’ve had my CV and cover letter professionally rewritten for me, and I’m pleased with the returned documents, hopefully these will land me some nice interviews, one of which leading to a full-time job. Probably half my earnings will go towards helping me transition, if not more, but I’m optimistic about that too. Overall I would say the future is looking brighter today.

I would like to make a special mention about Becca, who has her own blog about transitioning, she is going through a very tough time right now, and I want her to know I am wishing her well and hope she finds the strength to keep going. My heart goes out to you Becca.

Leave a Reply

